EURALEX Organization

EURALEX or the EUROPEAN ASSOCIATION FOR LEXICOGRAPHY was established at the 1983 Exeter Conference on Lexicography. The Constitution, originally drafted at the inaugural meeting of 12 September 1983, was agreed at the General Meeting of 13 September 1986 and amended at the General Meetings of 8 August 1992, 3 September 1994 and 18 July 2008. The current version of this constitution was amended at the General Meeting of 20 July 2018.

EURALEX Resolution

At the General Meeting held in September 2016 in connection with the Euralex conference in Tbilisi, the members adopted a resolution in which Euralex states its position and encourages bodies on international and national levels to acknowledge the status of lexicography as an academic discipline and promote the study of words and languages.
[See the full resolution text]

EURALEX Constitution

You can read or download the current version of the Constitution on separate pages.

From the Constitution (Board)

Article 14. The Association shall be governed by a Board composed of up to nine elected Members, including the four Principal Officers of the Executive Board (composed of the President, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer), elected at each General Meeting from among its Members. At the end of his or her term of presidency, the President shall continue ex officio as a Member of the Board for a further two years. The Editor of the International Journal of Lexicography shall be an ex-officio Member of the Board. The organiser of the forthcoming congress will resign normal membership of the Board and serve as an ex-officio Member. The Board shall have the power to convoke, at its discretion, Standing and Ad Hoc Committees and to invite Members of the Association to serve in various capacities, such as that of Membership Secretary, Minutes Secretary, Editor of the Association’s Newsletter and similar functions.

Board 2018-2020

Gilles-Maurice de Schryver – President

BantUGent – UGent Centre for Bantu Studies
Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium
Department of African Languages
University of Pretoria, Pretoria, South Africa
Web page

Oddrun Grønvik – Vice-President

University of Bergen
Bergen, Norway
Web page

Tanneke Schoonheim – Secretary-Treasurer (1965-2020)

Instituut voor de Nederlandse Taal
Leiden, the Netherlands

Jelena Kallas – Assistant Secretary-Treasurer

Eesti keele instituut / Institute of the Estonian Language
Tallinn, Estonia

Andrea Abel

ex officio – past president
Institute for Applied Linguistics, Eurac Research
European Academy of Bozen/Bolzano (EURAC)
Bozen/Bolzano, Italy
Web page

Robert Lew

ex officio – Editor of the International Journal of Lexicography
Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Faculty of English
Poznań, Poland
Web page

Zoe Gavriilidou

ex officio – organiser of the forthcoming congress
Democritus University of Thrace
Xanthi, Greece
Web page

Henrik Lorentzen

Society for Danish Language and Literature
Copenhagen, Denmark
Web page

From the Constitution (Auditors)

Article 12.3. The General Meeting shall appoint up to two Auditors who are Members of the Association but not currently on the Board to check the accounts for the current term of Office. These auditors may give advice to the Secretary-Treasurer on principles for the bookkeeping, and at notice of at least one week they shall have access to the books and to all relevant vouchers. Their Report shall be presented to the first subsequent ordinary General Meeting.

Euralex Auditor 2018-2020

Annette Klosa-Kückelhaus

Institut für Deutsche Sprache
Mannheim, Germany
Web page

Pascale Renders
(Assistant Auditor)

ULiège Library – Open Repository and Bibliography
Linguistique du français – Atlas linguistique de la Walloni
Liège, Belgium

Euralex Presidents

  • 1983-1986 Gabriele Stein (Lady Quirk), then at Universität Heidel­berg, Germany
  • 1986-1988 Noel E. Osselton, then at the University of Newcastle, Great Britain
  • 1988-1990 Antonio Zampolli, then at Università di Pisa, Italy
  • 1990-1992 Reinhard R. K. Hartmann, then at the University of Exeter, Great Britain
  • 1992-1994 Sue Atkins, then at Oxford University Press, Great Britain
  • 1994-1996 Frank Knowles, then at the University of Aston, Great Britain
  • 1996-1998 Henri Béjoint, then at Université Lumière-Lyon, France
  • 1998-2000 Ole Norling-Christensen, then at Danske Sprog- og Litteraturselskab, Denmark
  • 2000-2002 Krista Varantola, then at Tampereen yliopisto, Finland
  • 2002-2004 Thierry Fontenelle, then at Université de Liège, Belgium
  • 2004-2006 Marie-Hélène Corréard, then at Xerox Research, France
  • 2006-2008 Anna Braasch, then at Københavns Universitet, Denmark
  • 2008-2010 Carla Marello, then at l’Università di Torino, Italy
  • 2010-2012 Geoffrey Williams, then at l’Université de Bretagne-Sud, France
  • 2012-2014 Janet DeCesaris, then at Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain
  • 2014-2016 Lars Trap-Jensen, then at Danske Sprog- og Litteraturselskab, Denmark
  • 2016-2018 Andrea Abel, then at Institute for Applied Linguistics, Eurac Research, Italy